Shopping at the Farmers’ Market: Week 6

The weather here has been warm lately – warmer even that it usually is this time of year.  When we have this kind of weather in Southern California, it means one of two things: either winter will come back with a vengeance (right about the time we’ve decided that the rain is over) or it will just keep getting warmer and we’ll end up with a ridiculously scorching summer.  I’m kind of hoping for the former, mainly because summer temperatures in the triple digits SUCK.

But I’ve learned that this kind of weather also means a third thing: spring and summer vegetables at the Market!  I went on Saturday, intending to pick up some onions and potatoes and maybe some sausages.  I figured I’d cook the onions and the fennel and serve that with sausages.

But then I got there.  And there was ASPARAGUS.  And STRAWBERRIES.  And piles of Meyer lemons (I go through 5-10 a week – I really need my own tree), and artichokes and all kinds of good stuff.  So basically I shot my list down and now I’ll have to figure out what to do with what I bought.  😉

So here’s what I came home with:
Asparagus – 2 bunches @ $2 each
Fennel – 1 @ $1.50
Bread – $4
Lemons – 10 for $5
Eggs – $2.25
Radishes – $.75
Swiss Chard – 1 bunch @ $1.50
Strawberries – 2 containers for $5

I also stopped at Trader Joe’s for cheese and ended up picking up more mushrooms.

So the plan this week is to cook the fennel with the leftover fennel from last week, along with some onions.  I have a recipe that I’m using as an idea, although the end product will be significantly altered.  I’m thinking I’ll make lemon curd with the lemons, although I may not.  I’m going to try sauteeing the radishes in some butter and garlic, with their leaves.  I’ve heard it’s supposed to be good, but haven’t ever tried it.  (And I’m not sure how I feel about eating pink food, since I know the radish color will cook into the whole dish.)  I’m going to sautee the chard in butter (or olive oil) with salt and pepper.  Mainly I just want to know how it tastes, since I’ve never had it before.  I’m not sure about the strawberries, although I’m thinking of making a crumble.  (I wonder if I could make a strawberry-lemon crumble.  I’d have to cook and sweeten the lemons first, somehow.  Hmmm . . . that could be fun.)  And I’ll either steam or roast the asparagus (depending on my mood), and squirt some lemon over it.  Maybe dip it in some homemade mayo (I’m still refining that recipe).  YUM.

And of course, the ever-present egg salad on toast.  😉

Oh!  I almost forgot the mushrooms!  I’m going to try that mushroom-butter-onion-garlic thing again.  I’ll see how that goes.

And I may end up with a few “bonus” posts over the next couple of weeks.  I’m starting to cook more than I’ve been posting, and I’m going to fall behind if I’m not careful!

Leave a Reply

