Recipes from the Farmers’ Market: Roasted Mushrooms

Ok, I have to be honest here.  I almost didn’t publish this, because it seems so . . . SIMPLE.  But frankly, I hadn’t ever roasted mushrooms before myself, and they’re pretty amazing.  (I’m not sure why I have a section down below labeled “How did it go?” since I tend to give that away EVERY TIME right up front.  *sigh*)  And initially I’d intended to eat these as a side dish, but I’ve ended up tossing them in all kinds of good stuff (below – I’ve got to use up that space!).

Ready?

Ingredients:
1 pound mushrooms, chopped into similar sizes (I used the small mushrooms as a base and quartered or halved the rest of them to be about the same size) – assorted, if you can find them, but any kind will work
1 generous handful of fresh chopped thyme (or 1 generous palmful of dried thyme)
olive oil for tossing – about 3 Tbs or so
Salt to taste

The Recipe:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

In a baking dish large enough to hold the mushrooms in a (more or less) single layer, toss all the ingredients together.  Spread them out so that they’re back in a (more or less) single layer.  Read a magazine or contemplate tomorrow’s To-Do list while you wait for the oven to finish heating.  (And please tell me I’m not the only one who peruses my To-Do list like that.)

Bake at 350 for 45 minutes, until the mushrooms are kind of dark and wrinkly.

THAT’S IT.

How Did It Go?
YUM.  I’d intended to just eat these as a side dish, but I ended up using them in various things.  They’re  great hot from the oven all by themselves, but I also threw them into pasta with a little more olive oil and a sprinkling of Parmesan cheese.  They’d probably be good tossed like that with broccoli or spinach instead of pasta, too, though I didn’t try that.  I ate them at room temperature, with a glass of wine one evening as an appetizer (which was so good it ended up being my entire dinner).  I think my favorite way of eating them though, was reheated (in the microwave – I didn’t feel like messing with the stove or oven) and spooned over sourdough toast spread with chicken liver pate.  They’d be good in various bruschetta recipes, too, and they’d be AMAZING spooned warm over a steak or even some chicken, especially if you added a sprinkle of blue cheese crumbles to it.

And like I said, I almost didn’t post this.  It’s been sitting in my notebook for a week or so now, because I kept thinking it didn’t seem like a REAL recipe.  But you know what?  It tastes freakin’ AMAZING.  And in the end, that’s all that matters, right?

Leave a Reply

