Shopping at the Farmers’ Market – Week 5

Shopping from the Farmers’ Market this week . . . didn’t happen.  Mainly because I spent my entire Saturday morning clearing a virus off of my computer.  Good times.  NOT.  (Man, I just totally dated myself with that “not,” didn’t I?)

But!  It worked out ok, because I still had some broccoli and some fennel that I hadn’t gotten around to fixing, so I’ve still got recipes for the week!  I also have an update on that recipe that I was super-excited about, which . . . did not go so well.  😦  But I think I know how to fix it!  *rubs hands together in excited glee*

I DID go pick up some raw dairy, so I’ve got milk, butter and cheddar cheese now.  MAN, that stuff is expensive!!  I bought 32 oz of milk, 8 oz of cheddar cheese and 1/2 pound of butter for the low, low price of . . . $14 and change.  For serious.  (On the plus side, this means I will probably stop eating so much dang butter.)

Amd since I have no shopping list to share, you’re going to have to put up with some of my thinky thoughts today.  Bummer for you!  😉

I’m currently reading Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver.  In a nutshell, it’s about how she and her family picked up and relocated to a farm in southern Appalachia in order to live off the land – literally.  They didn’t buy anything that came from outside the state border, with very few exceptions (each family member got one “luxury” item, like coffee, and they bought olive oil from out of state).  They raised crops and livestock, and what they didn’t produce themselves they bought from local sources (farmers’ markets, neighbors, etc.)  If they couldn’t find it locally, they couldn’t have it.

And I thought *I* was hardcore.

But it got me to thinking.  One of the (many) reasons for this experiment of mine is the idea that trucking food across the country (or countries, plural!) isn’t exactly sustainable in the long-term.  We’re already starting to see the impact of it, andwe’ve only been doing it since about the 1940s.  So I figured that eating from the Market would start to cut down on that.  (Plus, the longer food is off the tree/bush/out of the ground, the more vitamins it loses, so there’s a health component here, too.)  So I started wandering through my kitchen, pulling jars and bottles out to look for “Product of [x].”

MAN.  There is a LOT of stuff in my kitchen, and most of it did not come from the U.S., let alone California!  In my cursory inspection, I came across Morocco, Lebanon, Italy (a couple of times), Mexico and Canada (a couple of times).  My bottle of clam juice came from San Diego, so that’s local, but I don’t know how those clams were raised (humanely or not).  Yikes.  Eighty percent local food might be harder than I anticipated.  (I was relieved to find that my Sriracha chili sauce is made about 20 minutes away from here, though.  I go through that stuff like CRAZY, so WHEW.)

Now, I realize that this experiment did not start out as 80% local food – it started out as 80% Farmers’ Market food.  But do condiments and such count?  Because if I count those, I’m not even CLOSE to 80% Market food.  So I think I might start using things up and not replacing anything that’s not local, just to see what happens.  (Although I might have to carve out some exceptions for coffee and olive oil.  Also chocolate.  PRIORITIES, people.)  And (having said that,) I’m sure I’ll end up replacing some of the stuff I use all the time, but at the same time, there probably isn’t any good reason for me to have 6 different kinds of mustard.  (For real.  SIX.  I like mustard, ok?)

Anyway.  It’s just something I’ve been thinking about since reading that book.  I’m not sure how gung-ho I want to be, but I might start moving slowly more in that direction.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Justin Velthoen on February 7, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    Sriracha is made in LA if that helps the condiment dilemma =]

    Reply

  2. In Rosemead, specifically! Not too far from my old Trader Joe’s, as it turns out. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

