Recipes from the Farmers’ Market: Roasted (ok, Baked) Onions

I really wanted to roast some onions after the last trip to the Market.  Really, a LOT.  But see, my oven isn’t totally clean at the moment.  (I really need to run the cleaning cycle soon.)  And the way my condo is laid out, the main smoke detector is about 25 feet from the oven, IF you measure around the wall between them.

You see the issue here.

(Actually, you should have seen me Thanksgiving morning, roasting brussels sprouts at 7am when the smoke alarm went off.  I was running around like a crazy person trying to shut it off before I woke anyone up.  I’d fan the alarm with a magazine to make it stop, then run into the bedroom to grab an electric fan.  By the time I got back to the hall, the alarm would be going off and I’d have to fan with a magazine again.  Then I’d plug the electric fan in and angle it toward the kitchen/outside door.  Then more magazine fanning.  THEN the smoke alarm 5 feet from the hall one – the one in the bedroom – started going off, TOO.  It was an experience, I’m telling you.)  (The brussels sprouts were good, though.)

ANYWAY.  Such was my dilemma with these onions.  In the end, I baked them at 350 instead of roasting them at 400 (375 is the highest non-alarm-setting for me at the moment), and they were still amazing.  They just took a little longer.  😉

Also, this is another of those no-recipe recipes.  You can increase or decrease pretty much anything in this recipe without altering the other ingredients, and it will still work.  (Although if you increase the number of onions, I would not recommend cutting back on the butter.)  But that’s what cooking is all about, right?  Taking something and making it your own.

The Ingredients
6 medium red onions
1/2 stick butter (about 4 Tbs) (or more, if you – ahem – REALLY LIKE BUTTER.)
3 Tbs chopped fresh thyme (or 1 Tbs dried)
6 big fresh sage leaves, roughly chopped (or 1 Tbs dried)
Salt to taste

The Recipe
Quarter the onions.  Spray a large baking dish with nonstick spray (or smear some butter or oil in it) and squish the onion quarters in there (don’t break them up).  It’s ok if they’re fitted in pretty tightly, but don’t stack them: single layer only.

Melt the butter and pour over the onions.  (Or, if you’re lazy like me, cut off thin pieces from the cube and sort of prop them on the onions.  What?  It works!)

Sprinkle the thyme, sage and salt over the top.

Cover with aluminum foil and bake for 1 hour at 350 degrees.

WARNING: Your house will smell like cooked onions.  I like that smell, but not everyone does, so I’m just saying . . .

These are really good served alongside any kind of meat.  (I’m partial at the moment to serving them with kielbasa and sauerkraut.)  They’re also really good if you toss the onions and some of the pan juices into some pasta and let it soak up some of the butter-onion sauce.  They’re good on toast, and I’ve never tried it, but I bet they’d also be good tossed with some chicken and steamed broccoli (and maybe a squeeze of lemon juice).

Happy cooking!

6 responses to this post.

  1. I love roasted onions. Especially if they are a little crispy on the edges, but still soft in the middle.
    Hmmm…. must dig around in my onion bin and see what’s left in there. (I’m pretty sure there are still some red onions in there. Amongst the yellow onions, and the garlic. Produce from the garden sorta got all jumbled into one bin this year.)

    Reply

  2. Posted by Chelsea on January 28, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    Hey! Just saw at the end you mentioned sauerkraut, have any tips for making sauerkraut taste better? Justin’s been eating by itself for a health thing (it’s good for your intestines I think?), but he doesn’t really like the taste LOL!

    Reply

  3. Bag Lady, I totally agree. These didn’t come out crispy on the edges, but they were meltingly soft all the way through and SO good.

    Hey Chelsea! I called you earlier, but basically – if you want sauerkraut to taste different, you almost have to make it yourself. In a pinch, you could add some sliced, salted onions (maybe soaked in vinegar and water, so they’re a little pickled), or some FINELY minced garlic (either raw or cooked). Just don’t cook the sauerkraut if you’re eating it for the health benefits; it’s gotta be raw.

    Reply

  4. Can you share your recipe for roasted brussel sprouts? I’ve recently started liking them after a lifetime of unabashed hatred but I have no idea how to make them. Great blog btw, Justin told me to read and and I’m LOVING it! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

