Recipes from the Farmers’ Market: Kale Salad

So!  Remember that kale I had last week? That I didn’t use all of when I made the gratin?  I MADE SALAD.  It’s really good, and really easy and the best part is that because kale is so sturdy, it will actually stay crunchy and fresh-tasting for a couple of days – even after you’ve already dressed it!  It’s a staple in my semi-regular meal rotation.

Ingredients
2 bunches of kale, washed and chopped
2 cloves minced garlic
1 1/2 Tbs lemon juice
1/3 -1/2 cup olive oil (depending on how much dressing you want)
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
salt and pepper to taste
1/4 cup toasted breadcrumbs (only if you’re eating right away – these get mushy in the refrigerator)

The Recipe
In a large bowl, combine the garlic, lemon juice and olive oil, and whisk to combine.  Add the Parmesan cheese a little at a time and keep whisking.  You will think it’s too thick – it’s not.  Taste the dressing and add salt and pepper as needed.

Wash your hands. 

Put the kale into the bowl on top of the dressing and toss everything with your hands.  That last part is important, because you need to get that thick dressing all over the leaves in order to tenderize the kale.  And remember, it’s KALE – don’t worry about being gentle with it!

How did it go?
I lovelovelove this recipe.  I make it more or less the same every time, although I’ve thought about using orange juice or lime juice.  But I’m a sucker for the lemon/garlic/Parmesan combo, so I almost always go back to that.  I have served this to avowed kale-haters, and everyone likes it.  Plus, kale is SO good for you, and since it’s raw in this recipe, nothing has been cooked out of it.  My only caveat here is that I have NOT tried this recipe with summer kale.  Summer kale is generally much more bitter and pungent than winter kale (the heat of the summer brings out taht flavor), so I’m not sure how that will taste.  (But if I have kale at the Market in the summertime, you can bet I’ll find out!)  You can add protein to this to make a complete meal, but most of the time I just eat an enormous bowl as-is, and between the fiber and the olive oil, it’s plenty filling!

3 responses to this post.

  1. I was seriously supprosed to ind how much I liked kale. Maybe I was craving something new? Maybe it was my body aching for all the good stuff in it? Either way, kale is the new friend! =]

    Reply

  2. Dude, I know, right? I knew I liked it cooked, but was surprised to find how much I liked it raw! Chard is good too . . . 😉

    Reply

  3. Posted by Cooper on March 1, 2011 at 11:59 am

    Who knew Kale could be so tasty! This has become a new staple in my house. YUM!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

