Shopping from the Farmers’ Market – Week 2

Well, this week it turned out that I had a bunch of leftovers, and wasn’t going to need to do serious stocking-up at the Farmers’ Market.  I actually love weeks like this, because it means I can pick up a few “big-ticket” items that I can’t always afford otherwise.  Since I still have some fish stew in the fridge, and a little leftover kale (for salad!), I thought I’d round out my shopping list with other stuff.  But I still got out of the Market for about $30, which isn’t awful.

Here’s what I bought:
10 Meyer lemons (for making limoncello) – $5
Sourdough bread – $4
Grass-fed, grain-free ground beef (1 lb): $7
Grass-fed beef Kielbasa (2 sausages): $6
Flat-leaf Parsley – $.75
Fennel (1 head) – $1.50
Fermented Sauerkraut – $10

It was the beef and sauerkraut that put me over the edge on this one, but since I had some extra money to spare this week, I didn’t mind.  I also made a stop at Trader Joe’s to pick up some half-and-half, and some frozen garlic.  (I know I can get garlic at the Farmers’ Market, but I LOVE the pre-minced garlic at Trader’s, and I’m not giving it up.)

So the plan this week is:
Kale salad with the leftovers from last week (kale keeps FOREVER).
Kielbasa and sauerkraut (no recipe there, obviously, but I’m eating it anyway.)
Fennel salad.
Roasted red onions with herbs and butter (I have some red onions I bought at the Market a couple of weeks ago, and I really need to use them up).

And of course, I’ll be finishing that fish stew in there.  MMMMMmmmm, fish stew.  🙂

4 responses to this post.

  1. […] of all, the Week 2 kickoff over at “Eating from the Farmers’ Market” is over here!  So go and read […]

    Reply

  2. Sweet! We are anxious to try your lemoncello!

    Reply

  3. And what are you going to do with that ground beef? (ONE pound for SEVEN dollars??? Okay, we sell ours Way.Too.Cheap!!!!!)

    Okay, now I want limoncello. And sunshine and warmth in which to drink it. Wanna trade for some snow?

    Reply

  4. Justin, me too! LOL!

    Bag Lady, I originally bought the beef to make cheeseburger casserole, but ended up eating liver that night and didn’t feel like I needed the extra iron. So now it’s sitting in the freezer, waiting for its cheeseburger casserole day . . . 😉 (Also, about trading for snow: HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!! Um. No. Not as much as you have, anyway!! I’ll keep my unseasonably warm weather. ;D)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

